Jump to content


Photo

Removing mk6 front seats


14 replies to this topic

#1 Pete

Pete
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Stand - White Hart Lane
  • Drives:B6 Audi S4 - 4.2L V8

Posted 22 April 2003 - 04:56 PM

Anyone done it themselves ?( Looked in me haynes manual and it looks easy, but it mentions some tool I'll need to stop a spring ripping me hand off :O
Posted Image
"In a world full of United's, City's and Rovers, there is only one Hotspur"

#2 Lee R

Lee R
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burton Latimer, Northamptonshire
  • Drives:2004 Mondeo Ghia 2.0 TDCi 130 & K1 Suzuki GSXR-750

Posted 22 April 2003 - 05:08 PM

i took mine out when i first git it....Pee easy ?(
Posted Image
Ex Owner of magazine featured 203bhp, RS2000 I4 powered, throttle bodie'd, Cossie wheel'd,
Recaro'd, snarling monster GTi Estate...Click Here for a Short History Of It

#3 Rich

Rich
  • Location:Coventry
  • Drives:Ghia X

Posted 22 April 2003 - 05:40 PM

5 bolts 10mm on each subframe into the car, undo the cable for the tensioner and out it comes :D
Posted Image
Wheels gone, Leather Interior gone

#4 Pete

Pete
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Stand - White Hart Lane
  • Drives:B6 Audi S4 - 4.2L V8

Posted 22 April 2003 - 05:48 PM

Is the tensioner to do with the seatbelts or the seats themselves ?(
Posted Image
"In a world full of United's, City's and Rovers, there is only one Hotspur"

#5 Rich

Rich
  • Location:Coventry
  • Drives:Ghia X

Posted 22 April 2003 - 06:14 PM

the seat belt tensioners m8, nothing to worry about just unplug the seat from the car wen u take the seat out :roll:
Posted Image
Wheels gone, Leather Interior gone

#6 Pete

Pete
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Stand - White Hart Lane
  • Drives:B6 Audi S4 - 4.2L V8

Posted 22 April 2003 - 07:01 PM

But if I leave it unplugged (cos the new seat wont have one) wont that soppy airbag light on the dash stay on ?(
Posted Image
"In a world full of United's, City's and Rovers, there is only one Hotspur"

#7 sortedford

sortedford
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Coventry
  • Drives:TROCSE DROF A

Posted 22 April 2003 - 09:02 PM

pete mate piece of Pee, unbolt the seatbelt bits off the oldseats n fit to the new ones ive done it on mine :cheers:
Stickers, Sparkplug Covers etc.. Visit the EVO shop here !!!

Posted Image


Florida Rental Villa- Sleeps 12!


All posts are the view of the writer, and not necessarily that of escortevolution.co.uk/ feoc.co.uk

#8 sime73

sime73
  • Location:grimsby, lincs
  • Drives:impreza sti prodrive

Posted 23 April 2003 - 07:05 AM

yeah , i had to do that aswell. i made a bracket and fixed it to a cobra universal subframe.
Posted Image

#9 sortedford

sortedford
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Coventry
  • Drives:TROCSE DROF A

Posted 23 April 2003 - 11:12 AM

the mk6 subframe has a fixing allready, but as sime said if its a universal one u can just make it :cheers:
Stickers, Sparkplug Covers etc.. Visit the EVO shop here !!!

Posted Image


Florida Rental Villa- Sleeps 12!


All posts are the view of the writer, and not necessarily that of escortevolution.co.uk/ feoc.co.uk

#10 Pete

Pete
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Stand - White Hart Lane
  • Drives:B6 Audi S4 - 4.2L V8

Posted 23 April 2003 - 12:41 PM

So, what your saying is, if the subframes are for a mk6 Escort, they should have a plug for the tensioners ?( ;(
Posted Image
"In a world full of United's, City's and Rovers, there is only one Hotspur"

#11 Mk6 Si Ross

Mk6 Si Ross
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northants
  • Drives:Now - Ford Mondeo ST TDCi estate and Scania R420 truck

Posted 23 April 2003 - 01:12 PM

little yellow plug down the right hand side of the drivers seat, cant miss it
Posted Image
130bhp Xr3i---1.8 Zetec Si estate---1.8 Zetec 165bhp. All mine at the same time!
Also recently owned an Amparo Blue GTi estate - then............it failed the MOT :(
Now driving a Mondeo ST TDCi estate

#12 sortedford

sortedford
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Coventry
  • Drives:TROCSE DROF A

Posted 23 April 2003 - 02:36 PM

if there for a mk6 they will have the bit to unbolt the bit the belt pulkgs into from your old seat and bolt to the new one
Stickers, Sparkplug Covers etc.. Visit the EVO shop here !!!

Posted Image


Florida Rental Villa- Sleeps 12!


All posts are the view of the writer, and not necessarily that of escortevolution.co.uk/ feoc.co.uk

#13 Pete

Pete
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Stand - White Hart Lane
  • Drives:B6 Audi S4 - 4.2L V8

Posted 23 April 2003 - 03:03 PM

the bit to unbolt the bit the belt pulkgs into

Cheers Ian..........I think ?( X( :D
Posted Image
"In a world full of United's, City's and Rovers, there is only one Hotspur"

#14 sime73

sime73
  • Location:grimsby, lincs
  • Drives:impreza sti prodrive

Posted 23 April 2003 - 06:02 PM

ok, ill try to explain it a bit better cos were not doing very well r we ??

on the original seats, the seat belt stalk/pre-tensioner is fitted to the seats subframe by an allen bolt.
to put new seats in you will have to remove this and fit it to the new seat
if u get a mk6 subframe, like ian said, it should come with a fitting so this stalk can be bolted straight to it
if u get a universal subframe, as i did, u will have to make a bracket for the stalk to fit it.

dont forget though, u only need this stalk/pre-tensioner if you r using the original seat belt/airbag.

is that any clearer cos i think i just confused myself X(
Posted Image

#15 Pete

Pete
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Stand - White Hart Lane
  • Drives:B6 Audi S4 - 4.2L V8

Posted 24 April 2003 - 04:18 AM

Much clearer :thumb:
Posted Image
"In a world full of United's, City's and Rovers, there is only one Hotspur"



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users