Jump to content


Photo

Upgrade ur PS3 hard drive


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 13 April 2009 - 08:19 AM

Im doing this as soon as i can spare the money for the drive

Buy this,perfect 500GB drive for the job

And do this

There will prob be a way to back up ur saves on a USB stick or something before u start so u dont have to start all ur games again...And there u have it. A 500GB media centre
Posted Image

#2 Lee_2f2f

Lee_2f2f
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
  • Drives:BMW 120d M-sport

Posted 13 April 2009 - 08:43 AM

does this void your warranty in any way? only reason is my mum paid for an extra warranty on mine....
Posted Image

#3 bluliz

bluliz
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Sussex
  • Drives:Focus

Posted 13 April 2009 - 08:59 AM

There will prob be a way to back up ur saves on a USB stick or something before u start so u dont have to start all ur games again...And there u have it. A 500GB media centre

You could possibly clone the data on to the new one, you would need a PC with 2 spare sata ports and some cloning software. No guarantee that this will work due to having no idea what type of partition is created by the PS3


does this void your warranty in any way? only reason is my mum paid for an extra warranty on mine....

I'd have thought yes, your modifying the original console.

But then again you only need a warranty on an Xbox lol
Posted Image

#4 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 13 April 2009 - 09:49 AM

u cant put anything onto the new HDD before fitting it as the PS3 HAS to format it straight away.Prob best milking the saves off the PS3 onto some kind of media and then sticking them back on the PS3 once the new HDD is in...there is a "back up" function in the PS3s menus so i assume this will transfer necesary files onto a portable device like a usb stick or usb HD
Posted Image

#5 leeRs2k

leeRs2k
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:weston super mare
  • Drives:Mk6 RS 2000

Posted 13 April 2009 - 10:13 AM

im gonna get me one of these for sure only had my ps3 for a week was an xbox boy
Posted Image

RS2000 SOLD

#6 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 13 April 2009 - 10:42 AM

yea i wanna put loads of music and AVIs onto my PS3 so i can empty my laptop and 60Gig just aint enough (not when GT5P takes 5 or 6 gig..i hate to think how big gt5 is gonna be)
Posted Image

#7 mk6cabby

mk6cabby
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cheltenham Gloucestershire.
  • Drives:MK6 Escort Convertible

Posted 06 May 2009 - 06:30 PM

Here is a vid on you tube that shows you how to do it inc Back up your files.

AKA Si or SiV6Si

Posted Image

And yes i am behaving ;)

#8 vinnyvangough

vinnyvangough
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Holsworthy, Devon
  • Drives:MK6 Escort Ghia X

Posted 06 May 2009 - 07:45 PM

I use the PSM (Playstation Media Server) program on my laptop and access all pictures, music and films through the wireless router. Works fantastic and saved my warrenty

Posted Image


#9 lastchancer

lastchancer
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Burnley NW
  • Drives:Escort 16v 1.6

Posted 06 May 2009 - 10:01 PM

I darent do anything with mine has been sent for repairs twice in 6 weeks glad I got extended warranty on it anyway
Posted Image

#10 Savage1.8Si

Savage1.8Si
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Drives:Escort 1.8 Si 5 door 08 Mondeo Titanium lowered on 18's

Posted 06 May 2009 - 10:14 PM

Might be getting a good size HDD this weekend now then!!! Got far too much on my PS3

Posted Image


#11 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 07 May 2009 - 02:10 AM

ive just bought the 500GB HD i linked to in the first post..so ill be doing the upgrade on sunday or monday...just need a way to back my data up.It doesnt explain it in the video,im gonna need to borrow a large USB HDD
Posted Image

#12 Lee_2f2f

Lee_2f2f
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
  • Drives:BMW 120d M-sport

Posted 07 May 2009 - 08:52 AM

ive just bought the 500GB HD i linked to in the first post..so ill be doing the upgrade on sunday or monday...just need a way to back my data up.It doesnt explain it in the video,im gonna need to borrow a large USB HDD


how far you from Manc, I have a External 500GB hdd you could borrow?
Posted Image

#13 Chris_209

Chris_209

Posted 07 May 2009 - 02:15 PM

does this void your warranty in any way? only reason is my mum paid for an extra warranty on mine....

No it does not :thumb:
You are allowed to upgrade the hdd,just don't mess with anything else.

#14 sortedford

sortedford
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Coventry
  • Drives:TROCSE DROF A

Posted 07 May 2009 - 02:36 PM

Dont see the point TBH, i think its quite poor.
PC with 1.5tb is much more effective, it can play mkv's then :)
Stickers, Sparkplug Covers etc.. Visit the EVO shop here !!!

Posted Image


Florida Rental Villa- Sleeps 12!


All posts are the view of the writer, and not necessarily that of escortevolution.co.uk/ feoc.co.uk

#15 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 07 May 2009 - 07:25 PM

what is mkv? i notice that LOST is available in AVI and MKV formats on a certain website and i only download the AVI as i dont have the codec for MKV and doubt that TVERSITY will make an MKV work with the PS3.

The reason i am doing it is so i can fill my PS3 with music and AVIs so i dont need to swap discs around,waste electricity streaming from the laptop etc
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users