Jump to content


Photo

Air Horn fitting


42 replies to this topic

#1 DJ

DJ
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lichfield. Shire of Stafford
  • Drives:Ash Black 5 door LX GTI Rep

Posted 25 May 2009 - 04:54 PM

right ive got this air horn i want to fit.

Posted Image


there is one wire off the original horn which i presume goes to the + on the air horn and i then run a wire from the - to an earthing point on the car.

Posted Image

Posted Image


well ive done this and its not working :unsure:

any ideas? am i missing something?
Posted Image
BROUGHT = TO BRING (PAST TENSE)
BOUGHT = TO BUY (PAST TENSE)
FFS GET THEM THE RIGHT WAY ROUND

#2 westy2310

westy2310
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:derbyshire
  • Drives:escort 1800 ghia zetec

Posted 25 May 2009 - 05:04 PM

hi m8 ive got 5 air horns on mine u need to wire them up via a relay

hi m8 ive got 5 air horns on mine u need to wire them up via a relay

#3 JC

JC
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brummie land!
  • Drives:2.0 powered Silver Escort

Posted 25 May 2009 - 05:07 PM

Question: Where am I going wrong

Answer: I bought an air horn! :roll:

Edited by Lordjc, 25 May 2009 - 05:07 PM.

Posted Image

Clicky to my Escort

My ebay items for sale - Looky :-)


Got a question? feel free to use the send me a message function (a PM)

#4 shawdreamer

shawdreamer
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Runcorn, Cheshire
  • Drives: 3Dr Mk5b, and the missus's head into the headboard while gaping her rear

Posted 25 May 2009 - 05:08 PM

Q."Air Horn fitting, where am i going wrong?"



A. .....your trying to fit one to your car ;)
Posted Image
any monkey can buy and bolt on.... an individual creates
!
you have to really ask yourself something when you consider trying to insult me.. do I really seem like the type of person who gives a flying shite covered monkey F*ck about your pointless comment?.. I'll save your deminished intellect the struggle..that'd be a "No"
Anything can be made to fit.... thats what hammers are for silly!
All posts are the view of the writer and not necessarily that of..... actually no, I dont really give a flying flame toasted turd, dont read my posts if you dont like em R-tard.
no one can accuse me of being "two-faced", Ill call you a nob behind your back and to your face... the latter preferably so I can watch you uselessly blow your lid
being directly honest with your opinion may not make you well liked but it will get you appreciated by the worthwhile few with the sense to understand.... Id rather be appreciated for who I am than liked for what I'm not.

#5 DJ

DJ
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lichfield. Shire of Stafford
  • Drives:Ash Black 5 door LX GTI Rep

Posted 25 May 2009 - 05:12 PM

hi m8 ive got 5 air horns on mine u need to wire them up via a relay

hi m8 ive got 5 air horns on mine u need to wire them up via a relay

where and how please :)

Question: Where am I going wrong

Answer: I bought an air horn! :roll:

do one :rolleyes:

Q."Air Horn fitting, where am i going wrong?"



A. .....your trying to fit one to your car ;)


and you

Edited by DJ, 25 May 2009 - 05:12 PM.

Posted Image
BROUGHT = TO BRING (PAST TENSE)
BOUGHT = TO BUY (PAST TENSE)
FFS GET THEM THE RIGHT WAY ROUND

#6 duffa

duffa
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:newcastle
  • Drives:'96 1.8 16v si( now dead ) / Saab 93 sport /Renault Clio 1.5 dci ( well not me...more the wifie )

Posted 25 May 2009 - 05:13 PM

Posted Image
is it this tune ??

Posted Image

I dont even butter my bread...i consider that cooking

join my clan


#7 scottg17

scottg17
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ross-Shire
  • Drives:2009 Golf GT Sport TDI, 1990 Mazda Eunos Roadster

Posted 25 May 2009 - 05:16 PM

My i ask what has made you try to pull off this mental crazy stint? :P are you a little bitty high or drunk just now lol :roll: :roll:

#8 westy2310

westy2310
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:derbyshire
  • Drives:escort 1800 ghia zetec

Posted 25 May 2009 - 05:18 PM

right u need a 4 pin relay the positive of the original horn goes to the relay the negative to the relay then a negative from the compressor to the cars body and positive from the compressor the battery hope this helps dj westy

#9 DJ

DJ
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lichfield. Shire of Stafford
  • Drives:Ash Black 5 door LX GTI Rep

Posted 25 May 2009 - 05:20 PM

its just a standard air horn and doesnt play a tune or anything like that.

its also a thread on how to do something and not for your opinions and questions on my well being etc lol
Posted Image
BROUGHT = TO BRING (PAST TENSE)
BOUGHT = TO BUY (PAST TENSE)
FFS GET THEM THE RIGHT WAY ROUND

#10 Lee R

Lee R
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burton Latimer, Northamptonshire
  • Drives:VW Scirocco GT TDi DSG & BMW S1000R Sport

Posted 25 May 2009 - 05:30 PM

there's no reason it should need a relay. I've fitted loads without that worked for years.

You haven't blown the fuse while fitting it???

oh, and Air Horns FTW, one will be on the Golf very soon :)
Posted Image
Ex Owner of magazine featured 203bhp, RS2000 I4 powered, throttle bodie'd, Cossie wheel'd,
Recaro'd, snarling monster GTi Estate...Click Here for a Short History Of It

#11 DJ

DJ
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lichfield. Shire of Stafford
  • Drives:Ash Black 5 door LX GTI Rep

Posted 25 May 2009 - 05:33 PM

there's no reason it should need a relay. I've fitted loads without that worked for years.

You haven't blown the fuse while fitting it???

oh, and Air Horns FTW, one will be on the Golf very soon :)

i thought that about that at first Lee but when i put the wire back on the standard horn it worked again so i dont think it can be the fuse. unless for some reason its blown another one :unsure:
Posted Image
BROUGHT = TO BRING (PAST TENSE)
BOUGHT = TO BUY (PAST TENSE)
FFS GET THEM THE RIGHT WAY ROUND

#12 westy2310

westy2310
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:derbyshire
  • Drives:escort 1800 ghia zetec

Posted 25 May 2009 - 05:35 PM

hi dj u do need a relay m8 i tried it on mine but didnt work got meslf a relay wired it up and worked straight away

#13 shawdreamer

shawdreamer
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Runcorn, Cheshire
  • Drives: 3Dr Mk5b, and the missus's head into the headboard while gaping her rear

Posted 25 May 2009 - 05:45 PM

hi m8 ive got 5 air horns on mine u need to wire them up via a relay

hi m8 ive got 5 air horns on mine u need to wire them up via a relay

where and how please :)

Question: Where am I going wrong

Answer: I bought an air horn! :roll:

do one :rolleyes:

Q."Air Horn fitting, where am i going wrong?"



A. .....your trying to fit one to your car ;)


and you



Posted Image
:P
Posted Image
any monkey can buy and bolt on.... an individual creates
!
you have to really ask yourself something when you consider trying to insult me.. do I really seem like the type of person who gives a flying shite covered monkey F*ck about your pointless comment?.. I'll save your deminished intellect the struggle..that'd be a "No"
Anything can be made to fit.... thats what hammers are for silly!
All posts are the view of the writer and not necessarily that of..... actually no, I dont really give a flying flame toasted turd, dont read my posts if you dont like em R-tard.
no one can accuse me of being "two-faced", Ill call you a nob behind your back and to your face... the latter preferably so I can watch you uselessly blow your lid
being directly honest with your opinion may not make you well liked but it will get you appreciated by the worthwhile few with the sense to understand.... Id rather be appreciated for who I am than liked for what I'm not.

#14 Lee R

Lee R
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burton Latimer, Northamptonshire
  • Drives:VW Scirocco GT TDi DSG & BMW S1000R Sport

Posted 25 May 2009 - 05:53 PM

you tried it direct from the battery terminals???
Posted Image
Ex Owner of magazine featured 203bhp, RS2000 I4 powered, throttle bodie'd, Cossie wheel'd,
Recaro'd, snarling monster GTi Estate...Click Here for a Short History Of It

#15 DJ

DJ
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lichfield. Shire of Stafford
  • Drives:Ash Black 5 door LX GTI Rep

Posted 25 May 2009 - 06:57 PM

Q."Air Horn fitting, where am i going wrong?"



Posted Image
:P

quality :pancake: hmmmmmmmm Red and lowered with my pumas looks good :cheers:

you tried it direct from the battery terminals???

how do i do that with out blowing myself up?
Posted Image
BROUGHT = TO BRING (PAST TENSE)
BOUGHT = TO BUY (PAST TENSE)
FFS GET THEM THE RIGHT WAY ROUND



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users