Jump to content


Photo

Dead


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 06 December 2010 - 02:56 AM

2 Nights ago I started my PS3 and black ops failed to start (couldnt see it to click it under the games tab)

I ejected the disc, put it back in and again, no icon, so i done it again, and it worked

1 Night ago however it was the same, but i tried and tried and tried and no luck. I've put my ear by the PS3 and you hear a noise once the disc has been pulled in that sounds like the laser firing or the spool motor trying to start spinning (but only for a fraction of a second) and then silence.

Not happy :( Not sure what to do about it. A drive can be bought from ebay (If it is the drive, and not the motherboard) for no more than £65, but then its a case of fitting it and hoping it solves the problem. Failing that its paying sony to do it, or maybe calling sony on a trading standards issue because its not "fit for purpose" in that its died a death after only 3 years.

Other than that the PS3 works fine (Watched a few movies on it tonight from the hard drive
Posted Image

#2 caled

caled
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester
  • Drives:MG ZS 180

Posted 06 December 2010 - 11:01 AM

Shame you're not nearer, you could've borrowed my blu ray drive. The PS3s are really easy to take apart, but as the system is still quite new it might just be worth ringing them up and seeing what they say. They might replace it for less than the cost of the blu ray drive on ebay?

Posted Image


#3 eetaylog

eetaylog
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bandit country
  • Drives:Ford Escort GTi

Posted 06 December 2010 - 12:28 PM

Shame you're not nearer, you could've borrowed my blu ray drive. The PS3s are really easy to take apart, but as the system is still quite new it might just be worth ringing them up and seeing what they say. They might replace it for less than the cost of the blu ray drive on ebay?


This. But if they want silly money to replce it just do it yourself. Sounds 90% to me like the laser has gone in the drive.
Posted Image

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
|--------- My GTi ---------|

#4 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 06 December 2010 - 09:22 PM

Prob gonna get an exchange refurbished BD drive form ebay. Its £55 so not too bad. Don't think Sony would entertain my complaint if i did make one. 38 months is quite a while after all.
Posted Image

#5 DRAVEN

DRAVEN
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester
  • Drives:Mk6 Escort 1.6 si

Posted 06 December 2010 - 09:47 PM

Have you tryed Hard resetting? The crash could of caused a problem with your HDD causing the system error stopping your BR drive.. ;)

http://www.tech-reci...ory_hard_reset/
Posted Image
The object of life is not to arrive at the gates of heaven with a well-preserved body,
but rather to crash through sideways in flames and stagger out yelling "Holy sh!t, what a ride!"

#6 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 06 December 2010 - 10:03 PM

It never crashed, there is no HDD corruption making it not recognise the drive. Also I cant do a hard reset as I'll lost almost 500GB of films and save data etc (My 500GB external is also full so i cant use that to back it up, and the cost of a new 500GB external is the same as a new BD drive (refurbed))

If a refurbed drive doesnt solve it (which i imagine it will) then i will try a hard reset before selling it as "spares" and buying a slim
Posted Image

#7 DRAVEN

DRAVEN
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester
  • Drives:Mk6 Escort 1.6 si

Posted 07 December 2010 - 05:59 PM

mate it happens all the time to the PS3 the drive is their but wont play disc's black ops failing to start is a system error as far as the ps3 is concerned and it could of cause a error in the system partion.. dont take my work for it google it...

can you not move files to your PC or laptop. ? it would be a pain "if" it is only a hard reset need and you go buy a new BR Drive..
Posted Image
The object of life is not to arrive at the gates of heaven with a well-preserved body,
but rather to crash through sideways in flames and stagger out yelling "Holy sh!t, what a ride!"

#8 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 07 December 2010 - 06:08 PM

Actually I have a small external I could format and slap into the PS3, and see if that solves the problem maybes... but I doubt it will
Posted Image

#9 DRAVEN

DRAVEN
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester
  • Drives:Mk6 Escort 1.6 si

Posted 07 December 2010 - 06:12 PM

its better to try it save abit of money ;) good luck mate
Posted Image
The object of life is not to arrive at the gates of heaven with a well-preserved body,
but rather to crash through sideways in flames and stagger out yelling "Holy sh!t, what a ride!"

#10 caled

caled
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester
  • Drives:MG ZS 180

Posted 07 December 2010 - 06:42 PM

its better to try it save abit of money ;) good luck mate


What he said, it doesnt cost you any money. May aswell give it a go.

Posted Image


#11 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 07 December 2010 - 07:43 PM

Draven do you have any links to people saying that black ops corrupted their hard drive rendering the bluray drive useless?

Is it the whole bluray it rendered useless? Or just it wont play black ops? Or it ruins the HDD?

The thing is I have seen this error code on black ops, it failed to load black ops and told me an 800 code, 2 days later im having issues and then it dies...

Edited by Craig855S, 07 December 2010 - 07:43 PM.

Posted Image

#12 DRAVEN

DRAVEN
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester
  • Drives:Mk6 Escort 1.6 si

Posted 08 December 2010 - 05:15 PM

No mate it's not black ops, but a general issue with the ps3 google ps3 disc won't load or something along those lines and you'll find it I was gona buy a ps3 with a dodgy drive so was looking it up..

http://boardsus.play...gs/m-p/43339133

Ps3 error codes
Posted Image
The object of life is not to arrive at the gates of heaven with a well-preserved body,
but rather to crash through sideways in flames and stagger out yelling "Holy sh!t, what a ride!"

#13 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 09 December 2010 - 12:07 AM

Yeah mate i googled it and there are forum threads out there blaming black ops (since a few people got the failure happening whilst blakc ops was being played daily, like me)

But there are also threads saying "GT5 broke my bluray drive" and "Update V3.0 broke my bluray drive"

Basically its just the drives time to die and people like to jump on a bandwagon and claim it was a certain game that done it. I'm not listening to these forum bandwagon members any more and im gonna treat it as simply a dead bluray drive that happened because its been in use for almost 4 years. £55 to get it going again isnt a lot of money

During my investigation though I've put a small hard drive into my PS3 and done a full format inluding a "Restore file system" and "restore PS3 system" and they didnt make the BR drive work again, but the restore file system one said my file system was corrupt (even on this new hard drive) and after the "restore" had been done i checked again and it said "file system is corrupt" still. ALthough the PS3 still works fully other than the drive, all my video files and installed demos still work. I hope a new drive works
Posted Image

#14 bluliz

bluliz
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Sussex
  • Drives:Focus

Posted 09 December 2010 - 05:21 PM

The BD drive has failed.
Posted Image

#15 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 06 January 2011 - 11:09 AM

Right, the replacement bluray deck* is here, I've got the tools, the youtube how to video, and the time. I'll report back once it's done. Hopefully I don't mess it up

*the deck is the internals of the drive, not the whole drive, so i've got lots of small screws and springs to worry about.
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users