Jump to content


Photo

AMD or intel


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 07 December 2012 - 07:58 PM

Looking at building a couple of rigs over the next couple of months and wondering which processors to go for for them. Neither of them need to be "the best of the best" so Im unsure if one make is out and out better than the other? But I'm looking for people who've experienced BOTH in recent history to give an unbiased opinion taking everything into account. So if Intels are better than the AMDs that sort of match them stats wise, is that reflected in the price? If an Intel is 10% better than an AMD it's 10% more expensive than then I'd say theyre equal value for money

Discuss?
Posted Image

#2 PeeWee

PeeWee
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cheshire
  • Drives:Mk6 Cabriolet and Mk5 1.25 Zetec Fiesta

Posted 07 December 2012 - 08:43 PM

I used to be an AMD lover years ago & switched to Intel for more stability and less heat.
My use is generally a bit different as my needs for professional music power meant that a lot of my software was better optimized to use Intel.

Fast forward to today and I am still with Intel, I find it stable and compatible so feel no need to shop around.

AMD may well be a viable option these days but I feel if this is so it is too little to late.

Not knowing what these "rigs" are going to be used for doesn't help tbf.

Posted Image


All posts are the view of the writer, and not necessarily that of escortevolution.co.uk/feoc.co.uk
PeeWee@escortevolution.co.uk


Free online storage 2gig (up to 8 gig possible free) http://db.tt/8GdBJJ8H


#3 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 07 December 2012 - 08:58 PM

1 is going to be for me for gaming (and other stuff but gaming is what it needs to be good at)

The other is for our neighbours who also want to be able to play modern games on it (not at Ultra settings like I'm going to be aiming for)

So I'd say the budget for the lesser machine is maybe around £400 all in and for my computer looking to spend about £250 on the motherboard/CPU/RAM combo (everything else i already have)
Posted Image

#4 PeeWee

PeeWee
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cheshire
  • Drives:Mk6 Cabriolet and Mk5 1.25 Zetec Fiesta

Posted 07 December 2012 - 09:12 PM

http://www.aria.co.u...productId=49755

http://www.aria.co.u...productId=48248

http://www.aria.co.u...productId=45511

I assume you already have your gfx card?

Same chip for neighbors should suffice using the HD400 gfx on the cpu?

Just a thought.

Edited by PeeWee, 07 December 2012 - 09:17 PM.

Posted Image


All posts are the view of the writer, and not necessarily that of escortevolution.co.uk/feoc.co.uk
PeeWee@escortevolution.co.uk


Free online storage 2gig (up to 8 gig possible free) http://db.tt/8GdBJJ8H


#5 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 07 December 2012 - 09:36 PM

http://www.aria.co.u...productId=49755

http://www.aria.co.u...productId=48248

http://www.aria.co.u...productId=45511

I assume you already have your gfx card?

Same chip for neighbors should suffice using the HD400 gfx on the cpu?

Just a thought.



Yes I have my GFX but may upgrade it a tiny bit further after Ive built it up and seen how it handles (I know my card can work on battlefield 3 maxed out settings)

Not sure the HD4000 will impress as a quick google shows it had to be ran at low settings to get anywhere, maybe I could whack a low spec PCI-E card in there
Posted Image

#6 PeeWee

PeeWee
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cheshire
  • Drives:Mk6 Cabriolet and Mk5 1.25 Zetec Fiesta

Posted 07 December 2012 - 10:16 PM

http://www.aria.co.u...productId=49755

http://www.aria.co.u...productId=48248

http://www.aria.co.u...productId=45511

I assume you already have your gfx card?

Same chip for neighbors should suffice using the HD400 gfx on the cpu?

Just a thought.



Yes I have my GFX but may upgrade it a tiny bit further after Ive built it up and seen how it handles (I know my card can work on battlefield 3 maxed out settings)

Not sure the HD4000 will impress as a quick google shows it had to be ran at low settings to get anywhere, maybe I could whack a low spec PCI-E card in there


I thought your neighbors only wanted it for mediocre gaming anyway, that's why I suggested doing that.
For a gaming rig I think £400 all in might be a bit adventurous hence my suggestion based on what you said they needed and the budget allowed.

Posted Image


All posts are the view of the writer, and not necessarily that of escortevolution.co.uk/feoc.co.uk
PeeWee@escortevolution.co.uk


Free online storage 2gig (up to 8 gig possible free) http://db.tt/8GdBJJ8H


#7 stoo2000

stoo2000
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Coventry
  • Drives:Opel Manta GT/E Creating: Orion Cosworth 4x4

Posted 07 December 2012 - 11:29 PM

My choice (and what I did)

Would be to go for an AM3+ CPU/Mobo combination,

http://www.ebuyer.co...3-hdz965fbgmbox
http://www.ebuyer.co...d-ga-990fxa-ud3
http://www.ebuyer.co...mz8gx3m2a1866c9
http://www.ebuyer.co...rd-11200-07-20g

All for under £400 (with a decent GPU), and that would be a pretty good setup!

With going for the AM3+ setup, when AMD finally get an APU chip that's good at single-threaded performance (for gaming) It's really easy to upgrade. The new FX CPUs are good for general purpose, but don't seem to have as good performance as the Phenom II for games.

I do try to use AMD where possible, although everything else I have is Intel, Core2Duo Laptop, Core i5 Slate PC, Xeon in local servers and in the Web Servers
Posted Image

#8 PeeWee

PeeWee
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cheshire
  • Drives:Mk6 Cabriolet and Mk5 1.25 Zetec Fiesta

Posted 08 December 2012 - 12:13 AM

I think he is looking at £400 all in Stoo, so with hd,case,dvd etc will come way above budget.

Posted Image


All posts are the view of the writer, and not necessarily that of escortevolution.co.uk/feoc.co.uk
PeeWee@escortevolution.co.uk


Free online storage 2gig (up to 8 gig possible free) http://db.tt/8GdBJJ8H


#9 stoo2000

stoo2000
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Coventry
  • Drives:Opel Manta GT/E Creating: Orion Cosworth 4x4

Posted 08 December 2012 - 09:10 AM

I think he is looking at £400 all in Stoo, so with hd,case,dvd etc will come way above budget.

The big expense here is the GPU, if that was cut down it would be quite possible, but then questionable performance with games.
Posted Image

#10 sidrick

sidrick
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 08 December 2012 - 11:50 AM

Intel. My i5 with HDMI output is superb.

#11 Stu

Stu
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Button Moon
  • Drives:People Crazy...... Likes: DnB, Pussy....... Dislikes: Wind, Farmers... Position: Wheelbarrow...

Posted 08 December 2012 - 12:29 PM

I doubt most people could tell the difference between any same-class Intel or AMD chip.
£500 for me to clear my inbox

#12 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 08 December 2012 - 02:51 PM

Budget for the lesser machine is around about £400 and using some of the existing components is an option (I need to look at their machine and see what it's got first and ask them exactly what they want by "want to play games"

If I use their existing tower/Network card/DVD drive then that's a few quid saved. I've seen some good mobo/CPU/RAM combos at under £250 including 8 core AMD FX chips so that leaves £150 for power supply and gfx the way I see it (Again, keyboard and mouse dont need to be factored in this budget, its purely a quicker tower)
Posted Image

#13 scottybo

scottybo
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:bournemouth
  • Drives:2.0l ford escort finnesse. Bmw 318i 2.0l se touring. Mk3 mondeo 2.2l ST tdci

Posted 08 December 2012 - 11:17 PM

if you want out an out power then go for the intel, if u want the best performance for each of your british pounds then get an AMD phenom 2

a phenom 955be combined with any half decent graphics card will play any game on the market today with ease and can be picked up for around £60, combine that with an nvidia gtx 260 and upwards and youve got a perfectly useable budget games machine, that would even leave u room for a nice case and the like
Posted Image



Ever noticed that putting "anal" in front of some ford model names makes them sound funny? Fiesta, Probe, Ranger. Explorer, Maverick etc... lol

#14 Simonez

Simonez
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leicester
  • Drives:Audi A3 1.8T

Posted 18 December 2012 - 05:09 PM

AMD FX4100 Quad Core!

3.6ghz Stock
Socket AM3
Quad Core
Overclocks to 4.2Ghz with a simple change of the multiplyer!

and all for £70 odd squid!

great bang for your buck! dont get me wrong intel do some great things to :)

:cheers:

Edited by Simonez, 18 December 2012 - 05:10 PM.

It all about the Derv!

#15 Stu

Stu
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Button Moon
  • Drives:People Crazy...... Likes: DnB, Pussy....... Dislikes: Wind, Farmers... Position: Wheelbarrow...

Posted 18 December 2012 - 05:14 PM

The only advantage AMD have is price compared to the equiv. low-med range stuff from Intel. If you want the ultimate performance then you have to go Intel, as AMD don't compare!
£500 for me to clear my inbox




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users