Jump to content


Photo

Windows 8 RAM problems


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 09 January 2013 - 02:44 AM

As you will know I've recently installed Windows 8. And had terrible problems running my games which have gotten worse and worse. Looking at the resource monitor shows why, at idle my computer is using most of the RAM it has, and running battlefield 3 makes it use it all and after a moment or 2 playing the framerate grinds to a halt then crashes. What the hell is going on here?

Posted Image

Edited by Craig855S, 09 January 2013 - 02:45 AM.

Posted Image

#2 Stu

Stu
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Button Moon
  • Drives:People Crazy...... Likes: DnB, Pussy....... Dislikes: Wind, Farmers... Position: Wheelbarrow...

Posted 09 January 2013 - 07:10 AM

It's normal. It makes stuff faster. It won't be affecting your game.

BTW win7 is the same.
£500 for me to clear my inbox

#3 sidrick

sidrick
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 09 January 2013 - 08:52 AM

What are the other specs of your PC?

#4 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 09 January 2013 - 07:49 PM

Other specs are AMD X3 425 processor (3x2.7GHz) [Sometimes I run OCTuner to OC it to 3.0GHz, however to be honest ive not noticed any increase in performance when doing this so I wouldn't say its a factor whether ive applied the OC or not]
4GB of DDR2 800Mhz
Asus HD6860 1GB graphics card
650W PSU
N68S motherboard
500GB Hard drive with nothing on it (rather fresh install of windows 8 pro)
Posted Image

#5 Stu

Stu
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Button Moon
  • Drives:People Crazy...... Likes: DnB, Pussy....... Dislikes: Wind, Farmers... Position: Wheelbarrow...

Posted 09 January 2013 - 08:16 PM

4gb is cutting it fine on any PC these days.
£500 for me to clear my inbox

#6 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 09 January 2013 - 09:00 PM

Unfortunately I cant simply up my RAM as my Mobo only has 2 slots and to get 2 sticks of 4GB will cost 110 quid (I'd much rather swap the Mobo out for one that can take 8GB sticks of DDR3 which will cost about the same, be much more noticeable and also accept a much better processor)

I've just given the game another go with Octuner running and it behaved itself better but not as perfect as it used to be on windows 7. I done a bit of searching on memory usage and found out about the superfetch etc using the ram up when its free..I just hope it is leaving it well alone when I have a game running, I think its obvious Im not about to fire another game up whilst im in the middle of one already so it shoudnt be holding ARMA 2 in RAM whilst im trying to play BF3 (wouldn't surprise me if it is though)
Posted Image

#7 smithyandco

smithyandco
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burnley
  • Drives:Ford Transit Custom

Posted 09 January 2013 - 09:05 PM

4GB should be fine for Win 8 (most budget laptops and tablets with Win 8 come with 4gb) but not ideal for gaming on Win 8.

Look through your processes to see what's chewing it up.

Things like increasing paging file, adding a cheap (and fast) usb pen for readyboost or even running Win 8 from an SSD can help.

Windows will assign memory to power hungry applications on demand... like gaming.
Posted Image
You can lead a fool to wisdom, but you can't make him think!

#8 sidrick

sidrick
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 10 January 2013 - 08:37 AM

4GB should be fine for Win 8 (most budget laptops and tablets with Win 8 come with 4gb) but not ideal for gaming on Win 8.

Look through your processes to see what's chewing it up.

Things like increasing paging file, adding a cheap (and fast) usb pen for readyboost or even running Win 8 from an SSD can help.

Windows will assign memory to power hungry applications on demand... like gaming.


I was going to suggest testing it while turning paging file off if it's a rotational hard drive.

Also, I take it you have the latest drivers for your graphics card installed, and they are Windows 8 compatible?

#9 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 10 January 2013 - 09:06 PM

All my drivers are windows 7 drivers (but freshly downloaded), the sites don't list drivers for my hardware for windows 8...yet.

how do you turn paging file off? I played BF3 single player for a bit last night and with the OCTuner on and set as high as it will go stably it was JUST playable (without OCT it was unplayable so it may be a processor issue with windows 8)

Multuiplayer doesn't work at all, it just kicks me off before its fully loaded. and my 3dmark score is almost 20% now than it was before I put windows 8 on
Posted Image

#10 stoo2000

stoo2000
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Coventry
  • Drives:Opel Manta GT/E Creating: Orion Cosworth 4x4

Posted 10 January 2013 - 09:24 PM

All my drivers are windows 7 drivers (but freshly downloaded), the sites don't list drivers for my hardware for windows 8...yet.

how do you turn paging file off? I played BF3 single player for a bit last night and with the OCTuner on and set as high as it will go stably it was JUST playable (without OCT it was unplayable so it may be a processor issue with windows 8)

Multuiplayer doesn't work at all, it just kicks me off before its fully loaded. and my 3dmark score is almost 20% now than it was before I put windows 8 on

Don't turn your page file off, you don't need to.

http://www.ma-config.com/en seems to be pretty spot on for checking drivers and locating newer versions.
Posted Image

#11 sidrick

sidrick
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 10 January 2013 - 09:25 PM

I didn't say he needed to, btw.

#12 PeeWee

PeeWee
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cheshire
  • Drives:Mk6 Cabriolet and Mk5 1.25 Zetec Fiesta

Posted 12 January 2013 - 11:32 PM

I can't honestly see me going to Windows 8 unless it benefits me in any way. Not doing it for a few simple bells and whistles or features that are only there to enhance a touch screen experience.

Posted Image


All posts are the view of the writer, and not necessarily that of escortevolution.co.uk/feoc.co.uk
PeeWee@escortevolution.co.uk


Free online storage 2gig (up to 8 gig possible free) http://db.tt/8GdBJJ8H


#13 ScORTED

ScORTED
  • Drives:in a straight line sometimes

Posted 13 January 2013 - 12:42 AM

I can't honestly see me going to Windows 8 unless it benefits me in any way. Not doing it for a few simple bells and whistles or features that are only there to enhance a touch screen experience.


This...

Unlucky craig, can you go back to seven easily enough?
Likes: Cheap insurance, track weapons, sleepers, proper handling, proper food, computers and technology, engineering, running, ford RS models, contact sports, motorsports, track days, The Stig

Dislikes: Fuel prices, whingers, harsh suspension, yUUf culture, being sheep, hard parked/ over slammed cars, VW beetles, prius and other hybrids, diesel cars (tractors), horses on the road and pikeys in general

© ScORTED 2005-2012

#14 Craig855S

Craig855S
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albrighton, Shopshire
  • Drives:Volvo V70

Posted 13 January 2013 - 09:57 PM

Yeah I can go back to 7 easy if I wanted to, If I don't upgrade my Mobo/CPU/RAM in the very near future ill be going back unless I can get BF3 to play using windows 8. Its managing to play ARMA 2 just fine and that's what I play more to be honest (It really fails at GTA 4 though)
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users