Jump to content


Photo

2.0 Conversion Problem


51 replies to this topic

#31 Ex-Finesse

Ex-Finesse
  • Location:Chateau de la Ralph
  • Drives:2.0 Orion, Track Escort.

Posted 01 September 2005 - 08:59 AM

Indeed, sorry I forgot it was not starting on the 1.8 ecu. :cheers:
Posted Image

G. Sport, Services and Modifications. 01604 709067

#32 Stu

Stu
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Button Moon
  • Drives:People Crazy...... Likes: DnB, Pussy....... Dislikes: Wind, Farmers... Position: Wheelbarrow...

Posted 01 September 2005 - 07:51 PM

The only thing, realistically, for what you've done, that'd stop it sparking is the crank sensor, either that or complete cuntism (eg, not plugged something in).. but I doubt the latter.. oh yee have faith 8)
£500 for me to clear my inbox

#33 foxdie

foxdie
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hertfordshire, HP1
  • Drives:2006 Fiesta ST

Posted 05 September 2005 - 02:13 PM

UPDATE.

Firstly they haven't fixed it.

But, THe coil is getting power. But theres nothing coming ferom the crank sensor. So we're gonna pull it apart, and see if we've done something stupid like put the flywheel on the wrong way round pmsl.

#34 AndyCanning

AndyCanning
  • Drives:Focus ST170

Posted 05 September 2005 - 04:58 PM

did u hear the engine running first before u bought it?
www.cannings.co.uk PC HardWare/Software At decent Prices.... TRY US!

Posted Image

#35 ANDYC

ANDYC
  • Location:mansfield,notts
  • Drives:s2rst , puma 1.7 ,sierra saphire

Posted 05 September 2005 - 06:16 PM

UPDATE.

Firstly they haven't fixed it.

But, THe coil is getting power. But theres nothing coming ferom the crank sensor. So we're gonna pull it apart, and see if we've done something stupid like put the flywheel on the wrong way round pmsl.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

fly wheel will only go on in 1 place mate as all the holes are offset
Posted Image

#36 foxdie

foxdie
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hertfordshire, HP1
  • Drives:2006 Fiesta ST

Posted 05 September 2005 - 06:47 PM

did u hear the engine running first before u bought it?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


only heard it turn over. But thats all needed it to do anyway. The ignition, flywheel and all things needed to run was off a working 1.8 so, hearing it run wasn't of big importance.

#37 davespages

davespages
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oswestry - North Shropshire
  • Drives:2.0 Escort GTi

Posted 05 September 2005 - 07:41 PM

But it is now.

So it wont run on a 1.8 ECU or a 2.0 ECU.

It turns over, so wont be imobiliser issues as the imob cuts the ignition, no spark, no power to sellanoid for starter.

I would say the crank sensor and its polarity, your using the 1.8 Crank sensor yes?

All vaccum pipes on?
ISCV connect (tho it wud start and stall after that)

Um, is there fuel comming up?
What about fuel pump cut off in the passneger footwell cowling?
That switch needs to be flicked up with a flat screwdriver.

No fuel... no fire...

Keeps us posted.
Posted Image
Click my sig for more pics of the GTi
www.ford-force.com
-------------
Escort Gti
2.0 16v 153bhp, 141ft.lbs
Davespages 2002-2007
-------------

#38 sorted_mk6

sorted_mk6
  • Location:Great Barr, Birmingham
  • Drives:Mk6 Escort, Cossie front, samurai skirts, evo vent, Wolfrace Ikons, more and more to come!

Posted 05 September 2005 - 07:54 PM

UPDATE.

Firstly they haven't fixed it.

But, THe coil is getting power. But theres nothing coming ferom the crank sensor. So we're gonna pull it apart, and see if we've done something stupid like put the flywheel on the wrong way round pmsl.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



mate did u try choppin the crank sensor wires n connectin them the other way round, cos wat u have said is exactly wat was happenin wit mine, coil gettin power but just wudnt start cos crank sensor. if u aint tried it, i wud seriously think bout it, 5 min job, worth a shot,
Posted Image

#39 ryanrs

ryanrs
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gillingham
  • Drives:MR2 turbo rev3 2.2 stroker, Escort mk6 GTi, Renault Premium 420 Dci articulated truck

Posted 06 September 2005 - 12:01 AM

might sound stupid, but check all the loom connectors , that they are all plugged in to eachother tight..

we had a prob with the engine turning but not firing, there was power to the coil, but only the odd spark ere and there..

turned out, while moving wires out of the way too fault find, a connector on the loom fell undone, plugged it back in tight, and viola! problem solved!

#40 foxdie

foxdie
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hertfordshire, HP1
  • Drives:2006 Fiesta ST

Posted 06 September 2005 - 08:06 AM

UPDATE.

Firstly they haven't fixed it.

But, THe coil is getting power. But theres nothing coming ferom the crank sensor. So we're gonna pull it apart, and see if we've done something stupid like put the flywheel on the wrong way round pmsl.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



mate did u try choppin the crank sensor wires n connectin them the other way round, cos wat u have said is exactly wat was happenin wit mine, coil gettin power but just wudnt start cos crank sensor. if u aint tried it, i wud seriously think bout it, 5 min job, worth a shot,

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Cars in the garage at the mo but i'll suggest it

Yes its using 1.8 crank sensor. But its not tranmitting a signal to the ecu/Coil.

We're thinking the flywheel isn't close enough becuase the new 2.0 was oringally from a 2.0.

#41 foxdie

foxdie
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hertfordshire, HP1
  • Drives:2006 Fiesta ST

Posted 06 September 2005 - 08:09 AM

But it is now.

So it wont run on a 1.8 ECU or a 2.0 ECU.

It turns over, so wont be imobiliser issues as the imob cuts the ignition, no spark, no power to sellanoid for starter.

I would say the crank sensor and its polarity, your using the 1.8 Crank sensor yes?

All vaccum pipes on?
ISCV connect (tho it wud start and stall after that)

Um, is there fuel comming up?
What about fuel pump cut off in the passneger footwell cowling?
That switch needs to be flicked up with a flat screwdriver.

No fuel... no fire...

Keeps us posted.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Theres fuel in the rail. its just not sparking. I haven't tried a 2.0 ECU becuase my ECU was 2.0 automatic, and not compatable. But it should start with the 1.8. most the guys are using 1.6 ECUs on there 2.0 engines. im just confused.

#42 Ex-Finesse

Ex-Finesse
  • Location:Chateau de la Ralph
  • Drives:2.0 Orion, Track Escort.

Posted 06 September 2005 - 08:18 AM

But it should start with the 1.8. most the guys are using 1.6 ECUs on there 2.0 engines. im just confused.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Indeed. You have no immobiliser issues with the original ecu providing you're using the original keys. :)

Sorry I can't help in this. I just paid someone an excessive amount to swap the engines :roll:
Posted Image

G. Sport, Services and Modifications. 01604 709067

#43 foxdie

foxdie
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hertfordshire, HP1
  • Drives:2006 Fiesta ST

Posted 06 September 2005 - 09:13 AM

But it should start with the 1.8. most the guys are using 1.6 ECUs on there 2.0 engines. im just confused.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Indeed. You have no immobiliser issues with the original ecu providing you're using the original keys. :)

Sorry I can't help in this. I just paid someone an excessive amount to swap the engines :roll:

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I havent had my bill yet from the garage, but im guessing i shoulda just got garage to do it the amount i've spent now :( but its possible we'll have the same problem... and still not have the car back.

#44 foxdie

foxdie
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hertfordshire, HP1
  • Drives:2006 Fiesta ST

Posted 06 September 2005 - 09:15 AM

But it should start with the 1.8. most the guys are using 1.6 ECUs on there 2.0 engines. im just confused.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Indeed. You have no immobiliser issues with the original ecu providing you're using the original keys. :)

Sorry I can't help in this. I just paid someone an excessive amount to swap the engines :roll:

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Ford imobiliser cuts the pulses to the injectors doesn't it? nothing to do with the ignition.

#45 Ex-Finesse

Ex-Finesse
  • Location:Chateau de la Ralph
  • Drives:2.0 Orion, Track Escort.

Posted 06 September 2005 - 11:13 AM

Yes, PATS works on injectors :)
Posted Image

G. Sport, Services and Modifications. 01604 709067



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users