Jump to content


Photo

Amp Recommendations


42 replies to this topic

#1 Ex-Finesse

Ex-Finesse
  • Location:Chateau de la Ralph
  • Drives:2.0 Orion, Track Escort.

Posted 20 January 2006 - 09:31 PM

Right! ICE isnt something I'm into in a major way, so was hoping I could get a little advice :cheers:

I have had these subs sitting in my cupboard for nearly 3 years:

Posted Image

They are 10inch and rated to 400w RMS, about 1200w peak.

I'd just like an amp to solely run these. No need for it to do components or other speakers too :)

In all honesty, I dont want the extra weight in the car, but a mate of mine went to great lengths importing these from America so we should get them running :D Also, being 10inch, they'll sound awesome to some fast DnB!! :drool: :cheers:

EDIT: Headunit is some 4x40w CD playing thing I think! :D

Edited by Ex-Finesse, 20 January 2006 - 09:32 PM.

Posted Image

G. Sport, Services and Modifications. 01604 709067

#2 Mattyboy101

Mattyboy101
  • Location:Essex and Manchester
  • Drives:Nothing at the moment

Posted 20 January 2006 - 09:50 PM

One or Two?

What VC config are they? 4ohm Single voice coil i presume?

Budget?

I have a mate who is selling a pair of these for £250 a piece. They are VERY good amps. He is based in Essex so could prob meet you, they are in good working order.
Posted Image

#3 Madmax

Madmax
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maximum Security Wing, Alcatraze
  • Drives:Mk2 Vw Golf 8V Gti, Honda CRX Del Sol

Posted 20 January 2006 - 09:59 PM

I got exactly the same one except its the 12" version which puts out 500rms and its runnin off a 1200watt max amp but in bridged mode. Try the toxic Tx-1500N !
Posted Image

If you ent rubbin, then you ent dubbin!!!

#4 Mattyboy101

Mattyboy101
  • Location:Essex and Manchester
  • Drives:Nothing at the moment

Posted 20 January 2006 - 10:31 PM

I doubt 'Toxic' amps run anywhere near enough power to produce any sound!!

Any amp that doesn't give you RMS figures in the specs is got to be shite!!!
Posted Image

#5 Ex-Finesse

Ex-Finesse
  • Location:Chateau de la Ralph
  • Drives:2.0 Orion, Track Escort.

Posted 20 January 2006 - 11:37 PM

One or Two?

What VC config are they? 4ohm Single voice coil i presume?

Budget?

I have a mate who is selling a pair of these for £250 a piece. They are VERY good amps. He is based in Essex so could prob meet you, they are in good working order.

One amp to run both subs preferably :)

4ohm Dual coil :thumb:

Budget - I'd like to stick to about £200 max. I know that I need a decent amp to power these without running it proper flat out. I would be wanting to use the subs to their limit now and again! :D

What kind of minimum RMS should I be looking for, obviously on 2 channels. Also, is it possible to run the amp at 2ohms with these subs?

Soz... quite a few questions! :roll: :thumb:
Posted Image

G. Sport, Services and Modifications. 01604 709067

#6 Mattyboy101

Mattyboy101
  • Location:Essex and Manchester
  • Drives:Nothing at the moment

Posted 21 January 2006 - 12:04 AM

I think the best way to do it is to sell one of the subs and put the extra money towards a decent amp.

£200 won't get you anywhere what you need to run these properly.

I would recommend running one of these, at about 400W RMS @ 2ohm - so the above Genesis will give plenty of headroom. And at £250 (open to offers I believe) its a bargain!!!
Posted Image

#7 Ex-Finesse

Ex-Finesse
  • Location:Chateau de la Ralph
  • Drives:2.0 Orion, Track Escort.

Posted 21 January 2006 - 09:41 AM

Jesus :roll: I didnt think they were that demanding subs!

Selling isn't an option :)

Mike C has offered me a hardly used one of these.

Can this actually be used with 2 subs? X(

Is the "rated output" another phrase for RMS? If it's 1 x 1,000w RMS, is it as simple as saying it'd become 2 x 500w RMS?

I'm not looking for the best, just something that'll take the subs all the way. :)
Posted Image

G. Sport, Services and Modifications. 01604 709067

#8 Mattyboy101

Mattyboy101
  • Location:Essex and Manchester
  • Drives:Nothing at the moment

Posted 21 January 2006 - 03:12 PM

Rated output generally means RMS, although being a Sony I doubt if it actually runs that high!!!

1kW RMS is serious power, demanding 0 guage cable and decent installation - and generally costs more than £145!!!

I would ask MikeC to find out the fuse used in it, then I can tell you how much power it actually runs!!

1x1000W does roughly mean that each sub will receive 500W.

To put it in a way I think you will understand, it's like comparing a piggyback ECU and a standalone system (Omex, Pectel, DTA etc) - both in theory do the same job - but I would rather have one than the other :thumb:
Posted Image

#9 F1ACK

F1ACK

Posted 21 January 2006 - 08:29 PM

I would recommend the Voodoo V700.2S.

Is 700W RMS bridgable split over 2 channels, so 350W RMS available for each sub. Normally £288.00 but chuck in a bit of Evo discount brings it down to £260, a bit more than your budget but it is a top amp, also imported for america.

http://www.voodoocar...Amplifiers.html

http://www.modworld....roducts_id=2843

Even got one in mine :D

Posted Image
Posted Image
www.modworld.co.uk - 10% discount to all club members

#10 Ex-Finesse

Ex-Finesse
  • Location:Chateau de la Ralph
  • Drives:2.0 Orion, Track Escort.

Posted 21 January 2006 - 09:54 PM

To put it in a way I think you will understand, it's like comparing a piggyback ECU and a standalone system (Omex, Pectel, DTA etc) - both in theory do the same job - but I would rather have one than the other :thumb:

LOVE IT!! :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Cheers for your time and help :cheers:
Posted Image

G. Sport, Services and Modifications. 01604 709067

#11 Chappers

Chappers
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Braintree, Essex.
  • Drives:Noble M12 GTO, Ford Puma 1.7, Triumph Street Triple

Posted 21 January 2006 - 10:07 PM

i hope this is going in the orion. Want me to come round help you make an install, can even bring mattyboy if he's not up to much :D

Edited by Chappers, 21 January 2006 - 10:07 PM.

Posted Image
Now part of the "Nobility"

As the official "Voice of EVO" All posts are to be taken as gospel and as such, exactly what www.escortEVOlution.co.uk is thinking at time of post.

#12 Ex-Finesse

Ex-Finesse
  • Location:Chateau de la Ralph
  • Drives:2.0 Orion, Track Escort.

Posted 21 January 2006 - 10:14 PM

i hope this is going in the orion

You TIT :rolleyes: Of course it bloody is! :D

Just want something very simple, black carpet install style.. :D Weight is important - not too much! :O :D
Posted Image

G. Sport, Services and Modifications. 01604 709067

#13 Chappers

Chappers
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Braintree, Essex.
  • Drives:Noble M12 GTO, Ford Puma 1.7, Triumph Street Triple

Posted 21 January 2006 - 10:55 PM

i hope this is going in the orion

You TIT :rolleyes: Of course it bloody is! :D

Just want something very simple, black carpet install style.. :D Weight is important - not too much! :O :D


:O y dnt u fkn say dt 2 ma fc u fg!!!!!1 fk u!!!
Posted Image
Now part of the "Nobility"

As the official "Voice of EVO" All posts are to be taken as gospel and as such, exactly what www.escortEVOlution.co.uk is thinking at time of post.

#14 Mattyboy101

Mattyboy101
  • Location:Essex and Manchester
  • Drives:Nothing at the moment

Posted 22 January 2006 - 02:40 AM

We can just take all the bits out of yours Chappers and draw round them!! :thumb:
Posted Image

#15 Chappers

Chappers
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Braintree, Essex.
  • Drives:Noble M12 GTO, Ford Puma 1.7, Triumph Street Triple

Posted 23 January 2006 - 10:43 AM

dude, orion. ORION :P
Posted Image
Now part of the "Nobility"

As the official "Voice of EVO" All posts are to be taken as gospel and as such, exactly what www.escortEVOlution.co.uk is thinking at time of post.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users