Jump to content


Photo

DIGITAL DIALS


35 replies to this topic

#1 Stu

Stu
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Button Moon
  • Drives:People Crazy...... Likes: DnB, Pussy....... Dislikes: Wind, Farmers... Position: Wheelbarrow...

Posted 04 January 2008 - 07:34 PM

Digital Dials.... as in the late Escort/Fiesta/Puma instrument cluster..

Someone on here made up an adapter PCB for the loom.. it wasn't the one turbosy had, or the one in the howto guide.. I said I could make some proper PCB's up for it but I can't find the post now..

Anyone help? :)

Found it!

http://www.escortevo...n...st&p=908148
£500 for me to clear my inbox

#2 mrmetallica

mrmetallica
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london
  • Drives:ford focus titanium

Posted 04 January 2008 - 07:37 PM

i did have a go not very good .i got the original plug.found adapter took up to much room.

#3 meekstaaa

meekstaaa
  • Gender:Male
  • Drives:Citroen C4 VTS

Posted 04 January 2008 - 07:50 PM

vanmanjas (i think thats how u spell it) offered to make me one ages ago

Posted Image
Proudly pushing in front of people who dare to leave the smallest amount of space since 2002.
Now doing it in a Wicked Red Citroen C4 VTS 180.


#4 Stu

Stu
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Button Moon
  • Drives:People Crazy...... Likes: DnB, Pussy....... Dislikes: Wind, Farmers... Position: Wheelbarrow...

Posted 04 January 2008 - 08:10 PM

i did have a go not very good .i got the original plug.found adapter took up to much room.


As in wouldn't fit in the space available?
£500 for me to clear my inbox

#5 mrmetallica

mrmetallica
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london
  • Drives:ford focus titanium

Posted 04 January 2008 - 08:32 PM

i did have a go not very good .i got the original plug.found adapter took up to much room.


As in wouldn't fit in the space available?


the clocks didn't sit back properly.might be the way i did it.much better with the right plug.

#6 kilevox

kilevox
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovenia
  • Drives:Escort 5 door GTi

Posted 04 January 2008 - 09:45 PM

I found this one at best home-made DIY looms:

Posted Image
Posted Image

#7 Stu

Stu
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Button Moon
  • Drives:People Crazy...... Likes: DnB, Pussy....... Dislikes: Wind, Farmers... Position: Wheelbarrow...

Posted 04 January 2008 - 09:47 PM

I'm contemplating doing an adapter that will just go into the later cluster.. but also integrate some circuitry to fix the fuel sender issue..
£500 for me to clear my inbox

#8 kilevox

kilevox
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovenia
  • Drives:Escort 5 door GTi

Posted 04 January 2008 - 09:54 PM

Stu you are electronic well issued...so this cannot be such a big one for you.
I did little investigations on that late fuel senders, and i memorized for the INVERTERS :) This is how to trick the fuel cluster, to show you the correct value. The inverters are cheap to buy, all they have to do is to change the prefix of the value before it goes to the instrument cluster.
Posted Image

#9 Stu

Stu
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Button Moon
  • Drives:People Crazy...... Likes: DnB, Pussy....... Dislikes: Wind, Farmers... Position: Wheelbarrow...

Posted 04 January 2008 - 09:58 PM

Well i'm hoping I can just get away with an inverting op-amp arrangement......
£500 for me to clear my inbox

#10 kilevox

kilevox
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovenia
  • Drives:Escort 5 door GTi

Posted 04 January 2008 - 10:03 PM

I almost forgotten...the other word for this is also known as NEGATOR.

And yes Stu! You can get away with the op-amp like LM741 which are cheap to buy :) All you have to do is wire it in inverting mode. Job done...woho i miss that times at the school playing with the 741's :)

Never forgotten how many condensators we have burned in opposite polarization...those were the days...
Posted Image

#11 Stu

Stu
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Button Moon
  • Drives:People Crazy...... Likes: DnB, Pussy....... Dislikes: Wind, Farmers... Position: Wheelbarrow...

Posted 04 January 2008 - 10:04 PM

LM741's are ok, but they're not very accurate.. I've got loads laying about but I might look for something a bit better.. 741's are just general purpose amplifiers..

I need to check I can actually do it this way first..
£500 for me to clear my inbox

#12 kilevox

kilevox
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovenia
  • Drives:Escort 5 door GTi

Posted 04 January 2008 - 10:13 PM

No they are not so accurate, due that they are multi purpose op's. The SNR is pretty bad at hight freq. But hey we are talking here about digi dials ---> so we need to check out what accurancy is allowed here for the fuel cluster, to give you the right fuel levels right?
If they are accurate enought to serve the fuel cluster readings than job done, if not we must find another op-amp, even with better freq. caracteristics and SNR ratio.
Posted Image

#13 Stu

Stu
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Button Moon
  • Drives:People Crazy...... Likes: DnB, Pussy....... Dislikes: Wind, Farmers... Position: Wheelbarrow...

Posted 04 January 2008 - 10:14 PM

Yeah. I've got some digi dials in pieces at my workshop so i'll do some playing around over the weekend.
£500 for me to clear my inbox

#14 kilevox

kilevox
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovenia
  • Drives:Escort 5 door GTi

Posted 04 January 2008 - 10:18 PM

I will do some researching tho, and find out what are the best values for R1 and R2.
G is for Gain here, which has a negative prefix (for those who are not electronics).

Posted Image
Posted Image

#15 Stu

Stu
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Button Moon
  • Drives:People Crazy...... Likes: DnB, Pussy....... Dislikes: Wind, Farmers... Position: Wheelbarrow...

Posted 04 January 2008 - 10:21 PM

G must be 1....... which means r1/r2 must be the same value, preferably with 1% or better tolerance :)
£500 for me to clear my inbox



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users