Want to learn to detail better

rs2k2008

Hey folks, looking at getting a new car soon and would like to keep it s tidy and clean as possible. I know how to throw a bit of auto glym and stuff on and of, but would like to take it a step further. Dont want to spend loads because im only a novice and want to do one step at a time. Going to use my current shed of a rover to pratice on (god knows it needs it). So can people please point me in the right direction of what items to look for and a how to do it. I havent got a pressure washer yet but going to get one end of the month. Cheers :cheers:

Also see polishedbliss website. They have good writeups on the various stages plus advice on what type of products to use for different paint hardness and colour. They have also taken the time to put a good write up on most products they sell so you dont have to just keep buying stuff and finding out for yourself whether its any good or not for the application.

So you can wash and wax a car. Can you do this without inflicting any damage to the paintwork? Next step would be to get going with a clar bar. If the paint needs correcting then look into machine polishing although this takes time, money and practice and only covers the paintwork so maybe start going into the finer details like restoring all the black plastic and rubber trim, arches, wheels, badge gunk etc. Basically start being anal about getting dirt and crap out of every nook and cranny and then leaving behind a protective layer so that next time you come to clean it, the task is so much more easier.

Im a bit of a bookworm myself so i read, read and then just before i apply any product or technique to my car, i read up on it again just to make sure. Afterwards, i read it again to see where i went wrong or if i can improve the technique if i did it right. Detailingworld will bog you down with information but is really your best bet in gaining gems from people who have been there and worn the t-shirt.