CPU explained plz lads

shawdreamer

See I have absolutely little to no experience with all these dual core jobs that are flying about and generally I used to avoid them in favour of more familiar single core systems.

here's my problem:-

The missus has blown up her pc, a P4 system that was specifically bought to supplement her growing addiction too Sims3 and facebook

so now I have to get another so as she stops enviously side glancing at my lappy.

the problem is I have no experience with multi core cpu's, I usually tend to stick to single core systems as I atleast understand them bloody things.

My question is therefore simple to ask but to me slightly mindboggling to answer:

her current pc was a Intel Pentium 4 - 2.8Ghz single core cpu, with a Nvidia (somethingorother) Gpu card it ran her Sims3 pretty well and had no issues running the net and the usuals.

Now I aint paying out for a newun for something as simple as playing sims3 and trawling facebook (which I shityounot is the extent of her pc skills) so that means a used system off eGay or something which is fine by me.

However, most the decent ones are running dual core cpu's with stated speeds much lower than the now blown one (which I understand doesnt entirely mean their less powerful)

and the question Im meandering around is :-

If the original cpu = P4 single Core 2.8Ghz that fulfilled sims3 requirements

what is the dual core with equivalent speed I need for the same requirements??

Dual Core 1.6Ghz is about as low as it goes really as far as desktops which would far exceed the capabilities of a 2.8GHz P4

(I have 2x 1.6Ghz dual core systems here... little HP units using SKT479 (laptop) type CPUs... they can handle a damn site more than any single core P4)

So with that in mind... anything that says dual core followed by the words Intel or AMD will suit if you really want dual core to replace your current system.