Attempting cam belt and water pump

cherrybeard

Hopefully I have this right.

- No water comes out the overflow pipe until the engine gets hot enough that steam comes out!

- the rad doesn't get hot

- the heaters go cold then hot then cold etc. (this seemed to happen suddenly)

- the top hose does get hot after a while but I can't feel much coolant flowing through

- the temp sensor doesn't indicate overheating even though it really does feel like the engine is too hot

- revving the engine does push some coolant out the overflow pipe and makes the heaters blow hot

- there is a big build up of crusty coolant around the water pump, behind the cam belt covers (good still shot at secs 22 and 35 in video below)

- the water pump leaks

I assume that not only does the water pump seal need replacing, but that the impeller blades are gone/corroded meaning not much flow of coolant. I will be attempting a replacement along with the cam belt which should be fun as its my first time.

I have read through threads on here and through the haynes a coupla times. Only this that I am not sure about is the camshaft sprockets. Is there any reason these need to be disturbed as Haynes seems to suggest that they may need slackening and re-tightening to adjust the sprockets to get the belt on properly.

Video of suspect pulleys and coolant leak from water pump

While I was poking around.......

- I found that the alternator bearing sounded bad (secs 4-5 in video). There is no discernible freeplay. Does this need replacing?

- I found some end float in the power steering pump pulley (secs 49-59 in video). There is no freeplay in any other direction. Does this pulley or the pump need attention?

Edited by cherrybeard

Just to tie this post up a bit and answer a few of my own questions.......