Temperature Guage

graeme647

Hi all,

I just got me a M reg 1.6i 16v and noticed something yesterday, my temp guage stays on zero, no movement even when theres warm air comin through the blowers...

So I've got a couple of questions...

I gather from what I've read on other posts that the problem is most likely to be the temp sensor and / or sender, now I'm a bit of a car novice so I have no idea where they are or what they look like, any chance of a description so I can check em out...? Btw as I say I'm a novice so 'just left of the monofibrulating conductor flange' wont mean anything to me...!

The other q is does the same thermostat run my radiator fan? if so and it is buggerd then I guess that means my engine is likely to go bang, is this the case or does it run on a seperate circut...?

Cheers all...

G...

Hi again...

Just a little more info for you...

I followed the top pipe from the radiator coolant resevoir to a little box thats on the side of the engine head held on by 3 bolts with a couple of other hoses coming out of it...

On top of it is something with a nut around it (similar to a spark plug) which has a little black plastic thing on top and 2 wires coming out of it...

I think the black plastic thing is the sender and the thing bolted in is the thermostat...

I took the 'sender' off by prising up the clips on either side and slid it off, there are two female connectors on the 'sender' and two male on the 'thermostat'...

I put a wire in the holes to effectively short them and turned on the ignition, my expected result would be that the temp guage should go up to high...

Nothing happened...

Does this mean that potentially I have an issue with the guage rather than anything else?

I also assume that of the 2 holes in the sender that one should be + and the other - when the ignition is on, I'll check these properly with a multimeter this evening...

Any info would be much apreceated...

G...