polishing and glaze

cherrybeard

hello all, probably should go in detailing section but seems a bit empty in there!

Anyways, got some G3 and 3M Imperial Hand Glaze to make the car look luvverly. Its my first time so would appreciate any hints tips or pitfalls that i should be wary of.

Was planning on washing the car first quickly before the G3 but only have shampoos that contain waxes so not sure whether to just rinse with water first. Some people say that G3 is quite harsh and others say that it is very mild so bit confused there. All i really want is to take out the yellow sponge swirl marks and try and disguise as best as i can the key scratches around both lock barrels. How long do i keep rubbing once the polish has disapeared? Anything special to do after the polish but before the glaze stage?

With the hand glaze im assuming that its a bit easier and you just rub it on and buff off with a separate cloth until it becomes shiny? :rolleyes:

Lady in the shop said that i dont need to lay a wax on top of the glaze but im sure you need to give it some protection. The glaze stated that there is no wax in it!

Have got access to a hose pipe at 10 this morning so if anyone could reply before then would be most helpful, cheers people. hopefully i wont rub too hard and take off some paint!

Wash the car throyughly before you start any polishing or glazing.

G3 Is quite abbrasive, but it should do you fine, just apply it as you do polish, leave it on to dry to a haze, then buff off, then apply your glaze. Wax on top is defintly worth it! It will add protection.

I think the tart in the shop was relating to the fact that glaze can be applied after wax, and will only take a wee percentage ofthe wax off.

HTH.

Wash the car throyughly before you start any polishing or glazing.