clay bar, polishing and waxing.

cherrybeard

Hi there, set aside a whole day to give the car a decent goin over and thought id post up my experience for others. This is my first time using any of these products, and although i must have spent about two months reading and re-reading instruction manuals and how-tos, i still felt a bit unprepared. Sorry, no pics. I was in wales on holiday at the time so had no access to extra materials, internet, phone signal, house line. The middle of nowhere was an understatement. Nice place though. There was a constant dribble of rain throughout the day which helped with the lubrication of the clay bar and polish but wasnt a hinderance apart from when it came to the waxing stage.

- First off, the car was washed (twice the filthy thing) with a cheapish shampoo.

- I then used a clay bar over the entire car (Megs clay bar kit) following all previous research and advice to the best of my recollection. This stage was fairly easy going i thought although i spent a good few hours doing it and probably rubbed a bit harder and longer on each panel than i ought to have done although i couldnt discern any noticable problems through doing this. Underneath the skirts there were a few spots which were impossible to get off but you couldnt see them without getting underneath so was happy (just) to leave them be. The car felt lovely and smooth after this and seemed to shine a bit better. It also showed up almost every defect clearly for the next stage...

- G3 baby. The slight pictorial instruction on the back of bottle wasnt too helpful so heres what i done.

> Soaked the stockinette in water and wringed excess water out.

> Shook the bottle and poured a 2 pound coin sized amount onto the cloth and dabbed it over the area of the panel i wanted to polish.