Cheating in online games

RobMk6

Is there a way of people cheating in online games, such as MW2 on Xbox Live?

Reason I'm asking is I'm fairly new to gaming online with a console and im getting pi$$ed off with something,

lets create a scenario within the game:

I'm by a window in the corner of a room, I see an enemy soldier come in through the door, I turn to face him and fire off about 10 aimed rounds, nothing happens, only to have him either run/walk up and stab me, or kill me with one round.

When I watch the little replay thing back my character does not turn, does not fire off any rounds and then dies, Now this happens far too often and its getting annoying.

Then when the match ends and I see people have about 25kills and 3 deaths I have to wonder how it works?

Your crap at it.

Practice.

Plus if you have internet lag, when you fire, the character isn't firing.

The people you playing against have been sadly playing every day all day. Try and find people as good as you to play against to make it fair.

If you cheat, you get banned, simples.

must be the lag then, as its basically just how you've said it, I'm firing, I can see my character firing, but in the replay (killcam) he's just stood there :(

and i know i'm not as good as some online but i play on the higher level in the campaign part of the game so cant be that crap :)

also how can i "find" people as good as me? is there a way to play only against people of a similar level?

Have a look on some gaming forums for people to add to xbox live who are the same rank as you.

i tried playing cod black ops on pc, and i cant even walk 10 paces and get killed, whilst my gf's brother son who is 8 years old walks comfortably getting 20 kill streaks :S

It's a lag problem, either down to your internet being slow or you're being matched against players from far away countries.